The Cincinnati Southern Railway Board of Trustees

The Ferguson Act required a board of five trustees to govern the Cincinnati Southern Railway.  Trustees are appointed by the Mayor of Cincinnati and are approved by Cincinnati City Council. 

The CSR bylaws mandate that political affiliations of the Board must be disclosed and that no more than three members of the same political party are permitted to serve on the Board.  Trustees serve five year terms and there are no term limits.  While trustees originally received compensation, today‚Äôs trustees are not paid for their service.

To learn more about the role of the Board of Trustees, please view the CSR bylaws.

Current Board Members

Thomas C. Kilcoyne, President, Republican
Mr. Kilcoyne has served as a Board Trustee since 2000.  Mr. Kilcoyne is an attorney with Cors & Bassett LLC, where he focuses primarily on general corporate law, property tax relief, estate planning, and probate matters.  Mr. Kilcoyne earned his law degree at the University of Cincinnati College of Law and his B.A. from Dartmouth College.

Thomas B. McOwen, Secretary, Republican
Mr. McOwen has served as a Board Trustee since 2005. He has years of experience in the rail industry, including his roles as the founder and later president of the Indiana & Ohio Railroad, which was sold to Railtex (now Genesee & Wyoming) in 1996, as well as board member of the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association. Mr. McOwen served for over 15 years as a commissioner and acting chairman of the Ohio Rail Development Commission, the state agency that relates with railroads in Ohio.

Paul Sylvester, Treasurer, Democrat
Mr. Sylvester has served as a Board Trustee since 1984.  Mr. Sylvester is a CPA licensed in the State of Ohio.  Mr. Sylvester has ten years of public accounting experience with Coopers & Lybrand in Cincinnati, Ohio, in addition to his twenty years of experience in Chief Financial Officer and Treasury functions in three privately-owned construction or construction supply companies.  Mr. Sylvester earned his MBA at the University of Cincinnati and his B.S./B.A. at The Ohio State University. 

Timothy Riordan, Vice President, Democrat
A Board Trustee since 2008, Mr. Riordan has 40 years of experience in City management and City public finance. Mr. Riordan retired in 2015 from the City Manager position of Dayton, Ohio. He has previously served as Assistant City Manager, Acting City Manager and Finance Director for the City of Cincinnati, Deputy Director and Acting Director for the Dayton International Airport and OMB Director and Finance Director for the City of Dayton. He is a board member of the Cincinnati Development Fund and a special advisor to the King Records Board.

Jens Sutmoller, Vice President, Democrat
Mr. Sutmoller has government affairs experience leading campaigns at the local, state, and federal levels of government. He served as Finance Director for a Congressional campaign, Finance Director for Ohio Supreme Court Chief Justice, and has led numerous levies and statewide issue campaigns throughout Hamilton County and Southwest Ohio. Mr. Sutmoller is a graduate of Miami University with degrees in Political Science and Economics.

The Original Board Members
Appointed June 30, 1869 by the Superior Court of Cincinnati:

Miles Greenwood E.A. Ferguson Philip Heidelbach Richard M. Bishop No photo available
Miles Greenwood
Board President
E.A. Ferguson Philip Heidelbach Richard M. Bishop William Hooper